top of page

Spring 2019 PPIRA Newsletter

Spring 2019

The end of 2018 and the beginning of 2019 have been fun filled and exciting for PPIRA.

Family Literacy Event

On April 10th, PPIRA Board Members Sarah Rose, Teresa Brown, Emily 'Slizeski' Finan, Melanie Wilson, and Sandra Bankes will be gathering at Vista Ridge High School (Colorado Springs).We will be unveiling "The Little Libraries" that were funded by PPIRA as part of our Annual Community Outreach Project. Students in the "Tech-Ed" Department worked to construct the libraries, another group of students helped to paint and decorate the libraries, and the English Department helped us decide what

books to order. It has been exciting to watch this project unfold during this school year and to witness collaboration amongst so many stakeholders at the school.

We will also be partnering with the school that evening for our Annual Family Literacy Event. We will be sharing information about the value of reading for pleasure as a young adult and into adulthood. We will also be gifting books to all students that attend. If you are interested in supporting/attending the event, please leave a message below.

Scholarship Update for CCIRA 2019

Scholarship Update for CCIRA 2019

Lynn Driggers had this to say about her experience: "CCIRA 2019 was a once in a lifetime opportunity. While the three days were jam packed with information, insight, inspiration and thought provoking presenters, it also challenged my thinking in a way that truly made me a better educator. The keynote speakers left me with a motivation to reach all of my students in a new way. The break out sessions made me reflect on my current practices and think of ways I could change my instruction to better meet the needs of my students when I saw them on Monday. Being an experienced teacher, it was great to be able to attend and gain new insight that I could implement the next day. Attending this conference truly challenged my thinking as an educator. One of my favorite memories was attending the Gerry Brooks lunchin. His message reached my heart and soul for kids and teachers in a way that I did not know was possible. I left the conference feeling energized and rejuvenated to reach and impact my students. I am grateful for the opportunity to attend such an amazing conference. "

Becca Daughtery had this to say about her experience:

"#CCIRA19 was an experience to remember. This was my first time attending the conference and I learned so much. The keynote speakers brought forth an amazing way of looking at teaching and learning. I was moved and touched by their stories and their knowledge about education. The breakout sessions were powerful and I loved how I was able to attend coaching sessions, phonics-based sessions and ELA using non-fiction text sessions.

The camaraderie and discussions had with fellow educators was another piece of #CCIRA19 that I will surely remember for years to come. I enjoyed the Exhibit Hall and the things offered there and the conversations had with authors and publishers."

Spring Membership Drive

Join the PPIRA Board and Council Members to discuss how #PPIRAcan support you as an educator. Council Members will also share out their favorite "takeaways" from the CCIRA 2019 Conference. We will me gathering at the Starbucks located at 1760 E Cheyenne Mountain Blvd, Colorado Springs, CO 80906 at 10 AM on Saturday, April 13th.

bottom of page